6 Wing

Date Raised : 1951-08-16 Location : Barrackpore
Air Force Station Barrackpore airfield was one of the foremost Allied air bases to fight the Japanese Forces during WW Il. In 1944, the Air Force Base at Barrackpore was formed into a group called 2 Indian Group. This group was disbanded in early 1950 to form the 357 MU. On March 16, 1950 it was renamed as 310 Station under the operational command of the IAF. On August 16, 1951, this Station was renamed as Air Force Station Barrackpore, 6 Wing. Betwee 1951 and 1966, the base was a hub for transport squadrons servcing the North East. In addition it also had a Survey Flighta Flighter squadron and an Auxilliary AF Sqn in this period. With closure of all flying activity, 6 Wing was transformed into a missile wing having in its fold numerous SA-II Squadrons from 1967 onwards.68,69,70 Sqn were fromed here in Feb 1966 and 38 Sqn in March 1966. The base also recieved TETTRA units in 1988-89 and upgraded briefly to SA-III Sqns in the same period. The base became a flying base again in 2012 with a Helicopter Squadron permanently based.

An Air Force Liaison Cell was set up in April 1959 to monitor overhaul of Dakota aircraft by Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. The role of the Units was revised to include technical and logistics liaison for major servicing and repair of Caribou and subsequently the An-32 aircraft. The Unit also liaises with HAL for the overhaul of the Chetak and Cheetah Helicopter, and the HPT-32. An Airmen Selection Centre initially known as Air Force Recruiting Office has been in existence in this region since 1950.

Unit previously existed as 310 Wing

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
16 Aug 51 to 27 Jan 53Wing Commander Anantha Ananthanarayanan1607 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
28 Jan 53 to 19 Jun 53Wing Commander Kartik Chandra Sarkar1589 GD(O)Stn CdrBarrackpore
20 Jun 53 to 14 Oct 57Group Captain Yeshwant Vinayak Malse1616 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
15 Oct 57 to 19 Jan 61Group Captain Ranendu Sen1618 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
20 Jan 61 to 20 Jan 63Group Captain Chodagam Satyanarayana1610 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
21 Jan 63 to 02 Jan 65Group Captain Damodar Madhao Oka1813 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
14 Jan 65 to 21 Nov 66Group Captain Shanil Kumar Mukerji1744 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
03 Feb 67 to 03 Jan 68Group Captain Swaranjit Singh1901 GD(O)Stn CdrBarrackpore
04 Jan 68 to 16 Jan 70Group Captain Madhu Sudan Ray3469 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
17 Jan 70 to 15 Feb 73Group Captain Sharan Singh Sawhny1937 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
01 Mar 73 to 02 Sep 74Group Captain Somendra Kumar Roy4032 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
04 Sep 74 to 31 Jan 76Group Captain Subhas Ranjan Bose3152 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
15 Mar 76 to 19 Jun 78Group Captain Venkataraman Srinivas Iyer4330 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
20 Jun 78 to 31 Jan 81Group Captain Subhash Chander Virmani4097 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
02 Feb 81 to 11 Jan 84Group Captain Samarendra Chakravarty5189 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
11 Jan 84 to 04 Jul 85Group Captain Shiv Nath Rathour5580 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
01 Aug 85 to 13 Oct 85Wing Commander Krishan Kumar Chauhan7140 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
14 Oct 85 to 22 Aug 86Group Captain Krishan Kumar Chauhan7140 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
14 Oct 86 to 11 Sep 87Group Captain Govind Chandra Singh Rajwar8103 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
01 Oct 87 to 10 Apr 89Wing Commander R SivakumarStn CdrBarrackpore
08 May 89 to 27 Apr 92Group Captain Sumit Kumar Das8993 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
28 Apr 92 to 03 Jul 94Group Captain Prem Prakash Singh12206 GD(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
04 Jul 94 to 31 Mar 96Group Captain Manab Jyoti Bagchi11019 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
01 Apr 96 to 03 Sep 00Group Captain Vijay Kumar Maheshwari12242 GD(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
04 Sep 00 to 06 Jan 03Group Captain Vaidya Nathan Babu13386 F(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
08 Jan 03 to 29 Jun 04Group Captain Arun Purushottam Garud14692 F(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
05 Jul 04 to 31 Jan 06Group Captain Brij Mohan16681 F(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
01 Feb 06 to 25 Jun 08Group Captain Kalarikal Puttur Unnikrishnan Nair17023 F(N)Stn CdrBarrackpore
02 Jul 08 to 20 Apr 10Group Captain Pankaj Vishnoi17347 F(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
21 Apr 10 to 11 May 12Group Captain Mohan Gupta18562 F(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore
12 May 12 to 31 May 15Group Captain Amitabh Raja Shendye19904 F(P)Stn CdrBarrackpore

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.