No.47 Squadron Black Archers

Motto : Karmani Vyaprutham Dhanuhu (My bow is ready for task)
Date Raised : 1959-12-18 Location : Adampur
No. 47 Squadron, Air Force was formed on 18 December 1959 at Halwara as an amalgamation of the best officers & men picked up from various Unitss of the Air Force. The Squadron adopted a kneeling Black and Archer as its Squadron Insignia. With its bow stretrched to perform the task, the Archer signifies ever ready state of the Squadron personnel to perform the task given with utmost efficiency. The squadron was first equipped with Toofani aircraft. In 1961, the Squadron moved to Kalaikunda. In August 1963 the Squadron moved to Bagdogra and also operated a detachment from Gorakhpur.In September 1964, the squadron moved to its new location at Hasimara. On 23 March 1968, the Squadron converted from the ageing Toofanis to the new thundering supersonic Mig 21 Fls. The Squadron also moved out from Hashimara to Chandigarh. In February 1969, the Squadron moved to its new location at Hindon. Having operated from Palam earlier, the air space around was not new. The Squadron stayed there for the following two years. In November 1973, Squadron moved to Halwara, its formation base. For next five years, the Squadron stayed there. In January 1978, the Squadron moved on to its new location at Chabua where it was to stay for the next seven years. In May 1985 Squadron moved to Hashimara. In May 87, the Squadron moved to Pune and converted to the Mig-29. In March 1997, the squadron moved to Adampur.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
17 Dec 59 to 15 Apr 62Squadron Leader Denis Anthony Lafontaine3844 F(P)COHalwara/ KKD
16 Apr 62 to 03 Jul 64Squadron Leader Charles David Fernandez3852 GD(P)COKKD/ Bagdogra
06 Jul 64 to 07 Nov 66Squadron Leader Pattathil Venugopal4431 F(P)COBagdogra/ Hashimara
06 Nov 66 to 29 Mar 68Squadron Leader Onkar Singh Wadhawan4899 F(P)COHashimara
30 Mar 68 to 29 Nov 70Wing Commander Tapas Kumar Sen4475 F(P)COChandigarh/Hindon
30 Nov 70 to 02 Mar 72Wing Commander Harsern Singh Gill4657 F(P)COHindon
03 Mar 72 to 19 May 74Wing Commander Sudharshan Handa4816 F(P)COHindon/ Halwara
20 May 74 to 31 May 76Wing Commander Inderjit Singh Sandhu4790 F(P)COHalwara
01 Jun 76 to 17 Jul 77Wing Commander Sindhaghatta Subbaramu5371 F(P)COHalwara
18 Jul 77 to 04 Nov 79Wing Commander Janak Pratap Singh5672 F(P)COHalwara/ Chabua
05 Nov 79 to 04 Jul 82Wing Commander Man Mohan Singh Vasudeva6128 F(P)COChabua
05 Jul 82 to 26 Feb 84Wing Commander Manayanthara Kunjanpillai Raghava Menon8766 F(P)COChabua
27 Feb 84 to 04 May 86Wing Commander Narayan Menon9005 F(P)COChabua/ Hasimara
05 May 86 to 03 Jul 88Wing Commander Vishwanathan Pasupathi10887 F(P)COHashimara/ Pune
04 Jul 88 to 15 Jul 90Wing Commander Arun Kumar Tiwary12194 F(P)COPune
16 Jul 90 to 07 Jun 92Wing Commander Sumit Mukerji12925 F(P)COPune
08 Jun 92 to 05 Jun 94Wing Commander Arup Raha13910 F(P)COPune
06 Jun 94 to 07 Jan 96Wing Commander Inder Singh14082 F(P)COPune
08 Jan 96 to 03 May 98Wing Commander Karath Padmadass Nair15195 F(P)COPune/ Adampur
04 May 98 to 28 May 00Wing Commander Sardar Harpal Singh16071 F(P)COAdampur
29 May 00 to 11 Aug 02Wing Commander Praveen Bhatt16970 F(P)COAdampur
12 Aug 02 to 18 Jul 04Wing Commander Sanjay Nimesh17862 F(P)COAdampur
19 Jul 04 to 14 May 06Wing Commander Parveen Keshav Vohra19162 F(P)COAdampur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.