45 Wing

Date Raised : 1989-04-17 Location : Sirsa
Air Force Station Sirsa was established in 1960. Situated on the banks of river Ghaggar, the Station was first designated as 10 C&MU (Care & Maintenance Units) under the command of Flt Lt Patrick, a logistics officer. The first aircraft to land at the airfield was a Dakota' on a runway made of PSP sheets. The concrete runway, PTT and the loops were constructed in 1963.0n 12 Jan 70, the station was redesignated as 5 MEMU (Mobile Echelon Maintenance Units). Two years later in Aug 72, the base was made a Forward Base Support Units and rechristened as 2 Forward Base Supporting Units (FBSU). The FBSU was upgraded in to a full fledged Wing in Apr 89.
Unit previously existed as 2 FBSU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
17 Apr 89 to 23 Jun 89Group Captain Tej Mohan Asthana7672 GD(P)Stn CdrSirsa
10 Jul 89 to 22 Dec 91Group Captain Dhanwant Singh Guram10916 GD(P)Stn CdrSirsa
23 Dec 91 to 02 May 94Group Captain Har Prakash Singh Sidhu11051 GD(P)Stn CdrSirsa
03 May 94 to 17 Dec 95Group Captain Padamjit Singh Ahluwalia11631 GD(P)Stn CdrSirsa
18 Dec 95 to 22 Mar 98Group Captain Vivek Kumar Chopra12752 GD(P)Stn CdrSirsa
23 Mar 98 to 23 Apr 00Group Captain Shyamlal Ghosh13625 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
24 Apr 00 to 27 May 01Group Captain Arun Vasudeo Thakur Desai13372 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
28 May 01 to 20 Mar 02Group Captain Simhakutty Varthaman13606 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
21 Mar 02 to 07 May 04Group Captain Thinide Kumar Nair14680 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
08 May 04 to 01 Jan 06Group Captain Vinod Kumar Chopra14563 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
02 Jan 06 to 03 Feb 08Group Captain Ashit Ishwarlal Mehta16377 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
04 Feb 08 to 20 Dec 09Group Captain Gurcharan Singh Bedi17448 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
21 Dec 09 to 03 Jul 11Group Captain Anil Sabharwal18553 F(P)Stn CdrSirsa
04 Jul 11 to 03 Jan 13Air Commodore Savinder Pal Singh18116 F(P)AOCSirsa
04 Jan 13 to 28 Dec 14Air Commodore Makarand Ranade18586 F(P)AOCSirsa
29 Dec 14 to 10 Apr 17Air Commodore Ashish Vohra18801 F(P)AOCSirsa
12 Jun 17 to 24 Dec 18Air Commodore Mehtab Singh Deswal20131 F(P)AOCSirsa

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.