No.44 Squadron Mighty Jets

Motto : Ishtam Yatnen Sadhyet
Date Raised : 1961-03-31 Location : Chandigarh
The squadron was formed at Chandigarh on 06 Apr 1961, with the AN-12, which was a 4 engine heavy lift turbo prop aircraft. This versatile ac undertook all kinds of airlift ops in the most inhospitable terrain, both in the North East and J&K sectors. the squadron was later equipped with the stretegic heavy transport ac, the IL-76, in Mar 1985. During the Sino-India conflict in 1962, the squadron took active part in airlifting supplies, arms, ammUnitsion and cas evac in the Ladakh sector. The Indo-Pak conflict of 1965 war the squadron carried out strategic and tactical airlift. In 1971, during the Indo-Pak war, when the squadron was tasked to strike troop concentration at Hajipur, Fort Abbas and Skardu. The squadron became the first tpt sqn to be awarded the Battle Honours. During the IPKF ops in Sri Lanka, the sqn continued to support our land forces, both during induction and deinduction. In recognition of its achievements, the sqn has been awarded one MVC, two Vr C, one YSM, three VSM, five mention in despatch, 30 VMs, 25 CAS and 51 AOC-in-C commendations.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to Group Captain Rajat Sharma17008 F(P)COAgra
31 Mar 61 to 17 Dec 62Wing Commander Trilok Nath Ghadiok2354 F(P)COChandigarh
01 Feb 63 to 30 Nov 65Wing Commander Tom Lionel Anderson3126 GD(P)COChandigarh
01 Dec 65 to 28 Jun 67Wing Commander Gurdip Singh3944 F(P)COChandigarh
29 Jun 67 to 10 May 70Wing Commander Vijay Chand Mankotia4041 F(P)COChandigarh
11 May 71 to 16 Aug 71Wing Commander Ajit Kumar Bhattacharjee4427 GD(P)COChandigarh
25 Aug 71 to 17 May 74Wing Commander Vidya Bhushan Vashist4584 F(P)COChandigarh
18 May 74 to 31 Oct 76Wing Commander Narinder Singh Arora4983 F(P)COChandigarh
01 Nov 76 to 16 Jul 77Wing Commander Dalip Singh Sabherwal4756 F(P)COChandigarh
08 Aug 77 to 15 Aug 77Wing Commander Kambiranda Muthanna Ponnappa4503 F(P)COChandigarh
18 Aug 77 to 12 Aug 80Group Captain Kambiranda Muthanna Ponnappa4503 F(P)COChandigarh
27 Oct 80 to 21 Apr 81Group Captain Ashwini Kumar Bhide5674 F(P)COChandigarh
22 Apr 81 to 31 Jan 85Group Captain Madhavan Ambaidy5372 F(P)COChandigarh
01 Feb 85 to 30 Jan 87Group Captain Ashok Kumar Goel8151 F(P)COAgra
01 Oct 87 to 22 Oct 89Group Captain Anant Gopal Bewoor9718 F(P)COAgra
23 Oct 89 to 27 Sep 92Group Captain Mohinderjit Singh Singha9711 F(P)COAgra
28 Sep 92 to 11 Sep 94Group Captain Pravesh Kumar12411 F(P)COAgra
12 Sep 94 to 14 May 97Group Captain Robin Chandra Baruah13156 F(P)COAgra
15 May 97 to 31 Aug 00Group Captain Trikandiyur Kollath Venugopal13598 F(P)COAgra
01 Sep 00 to 25 Aug 02Group Captain Anil Kumar Sharma14670 F(P)COAgra
26 Aug 02 to Group Captain Sridharan Panicker Radha Krishnan Nair16040 F(P)COAgra
01 Apr 17 to 30 Jun 19Group Captain Naveen Kumar Singhal22530 F(P)COAgra

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.