No.3 Squadron Cobras

Motto : Lakshya Ved (Destroy target with Precision)
Date Raised : 1941-10-01 Location : Nal
No. 3 squadron was formed at Peshawar on 1st October 1941 as a fighter reconnaissance squadron with the motto ' ba himmat ba murad' which was later changed to 'lakshya vedh'. The squadron took an active part in operations against militant tribes of the northwestern frontier province and later in the second world war, against the Japanese troops during the Burma campaign in 1945. During the 1965 and 1971 indo-pak conflicts the Cobras then equipped with Mysteres, fought gallantly in the highest traditions of the service and were awarded six vir chakras, three vishisht seva medals, and eight mention-in-dispatches. In March 1975 , No. 3 squadron had the proud privilege of being amongst the first few units in the IAF to receive the 'president’s standards' and in December 1994, the squadron received 'battle honours' for the 1965 indo-pak war. Initially starting with Audax aircraft the squadron has been constantly upgrading its armor and in 2002 the cobras were honoured to be the first unit in the IAF to convert to the upgraded MiG-21 'Bisons'. The Cobras hold the distinction of being the oldest un-number platted squadron in the IAF, thus having the honour of continuous service from the squadron's inception.
 Read Detailed History
Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Oct 41 to 13 Apr 42Squadron Leader NAN BrayRAFCOPeshawar
14 Apr 42 to 15 Aug 42Squadron Leader Mehar Singh1559 GD(P)COPeshawar
16 Aug 42 to 25 Aug 42Flight Lieutenant Diwan Atma Ram Nanda1562 GD(P)COPeshawar
26 Aug 42 to 12 Sep 43Squadron Leader Diwan Atma Ram Nanda1562 GD(P)COPeshawar
13 Sep 43 to 06 Jan 45Squadron Leader Prithipal Singh1578 GD(P)COPeshawar
08 Jan 45 to 27 Dec 45Squadron Leader Shivdev Singh1595 GD(P)COPeshawar
28 Dec 45 to 27 Mar 46Squadron Leader Om Prakash Mehra1639 GD(P)COKohat
01 Apr 46 to 30 Dec 46Squadron Leader Ramchander Atmaram1583 GD(P)COKohat
31 Dec 46 to 28 Aug 47Squadron Leader Mohan Dev Suri1655 GD(P)COKohat
28 Sep 47 to 09 Dec 47Squadron Leader Anand Ramdas Pandit1707 GD(P)COPune
10 Dec 47 to 11 Feb 49Squadron Leader Kasargod Sadanand Bhat1747 GD(P)COPune
12 Feb 49 to 28 Apr 50Squadron Leader Kenneth Merals David1863 GD(O)COPune
11 May 50 to 14 Jul 52Squadron Leader John Ivor McKenzie1806 GD(P)COPune/ Halwara/ Ambal
15 Jul 52 to 29 Dec 53Squadron Leader Anant Vemanrao Samsi1865 GD(P)COAmbala
30 Dec 53 to 15 Apr 55Squadron Leader John Jasper Bouche2938 GD(P)COAmbala
16 Apr 55 to 21 Oct 55Squadron Leader Suranjan Das3175 GD(P)COAmbala
22 Oct 55 to 30 Apr 57Squadron Leader Maheshwar Das Khanna2776 GD(P)COAmbala
01 May 57 to 14 Apr 59Squadron Leader Subhas Ranjan Bose3152 GD(P)COAmbala/ Kalaikunda
15 Apr 59 to 13 Dec 61Squadron Leader Om Prakash Taneja3843 GD(P)COKalaikunda
14 Dec 61 to 21 Nov 62Squadron Leader Patrick Russell Earle3965 GD(P)COKalaikunda
22 Nov 62 to 03 Apr 65Wing Commander Regionald Louis Sayce3086 GD(P)COKalaikunda/ Pathanko
05 Apr 65 to 11 Sep 65Wing Commander Paul Cecil Roby3479 GD(P)COPathankot
12 Sep 65 to 25 Sep 67Wing Commander Surapati Bhattacharya3974 GD(P)COPathankot
26 Sep 67 to 26 Dec 68Wing Commander Kalyan Krishna Kurane4426 GD(P)COPathankot
17 Aug 69 to 11 Jun 71Wing Commander Pattathil Venugopal4431 GD(P)COPathankot
12 Jun 71 to 04 Dec 73Wing Commander Rabindar Nath Dogra4725 GD(P)COPathankot/ Hindan
01 Feb 74 to 11 Apr 75Wing Commander Tekkidath Vijayan Nair Vijayan5009 GD(P)COPathankot
02 May 75 to 11 Aug 76Wing Commander Madan Mohan Sharma5108 GD(P)COPathankot
21 Aug 76 to 20 Jan 79Wing Commander Dinanath Ramchander Nadkarni5587 GD(P)COPathankot
22 Jan 79 to 21 Jun 81Wing Commander Udaysingh Vyankatoar Lagad6015 GD(P)COPathankot
22 Jun 81 to 29 May 83Wing Commander Anil Kumar Trikha8436 GD(P)COPathankot
30 May 83 to 19 May 85Wing Commander Gurumurthy Balasubramanian8445 GD(P)COPathankot
17 Jun 85 to 07 Oct 87Wing Commander Dasharathy Dayakar10908 GD(P)COPathankot
16 Oct 87 to 16 Oct 89Wing Commander Rabin Kumar Ghosh11306 GD(P)COPathankot
17 Oct 89 to 02 Dec 91Wing Commander Anup Kumar Shyam12065 GD(P)COPathankot
03 Dec 91 to 26 Dec 93Wing Commander Bidanda Chengapa Nanjappa13246 F(P)COPathankot
27 Dec 93 to 16 Jul 95Wing Commander Tejender Pal Singh Gill13767 F(P)COPathankot
17 Jul 95 to 13 Jul 97Wing Commander Dipanjan Roy Chowdhury14678 F(P)COPathankot/ Ambala
14 Jul 97 to 29 Aug 99Wing Commander Anup Ghosh15563 F(P)COAmbala
30 Aug 99 to 22 Jul 01Wing Commander Kalianda Appaya Muthana16372 F(P)COAmbala
23 Jul 01 to 08 Dec 02Wing Commander Ravinder Kumar Dhir15678 F(P)COAmbala
09 Dec 02 to 06 Mar 05Wing Commander Harish Nayani17135 F(P)COAmbala
07 Mar 05 to 06 May 07Wing Commander Dhananjai Vishnu Wani18568 F(P)COAmbala
07 May 07 to 17 May 09Wing Commander Manish Kumar Gupta20439 F(P)COAmbala

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.