27 Wing

Date Raised : 1979-01-26 Location : Bhuj
The airstrip was constructed by the US Air Force in 1941-42 during World War-II to serve as a transit base between Karachi and Bombay (now _Mumbai). During that period, Dakota aircraft operated frequently from this base. After World War-II, the USAF handed over the airstrip to the then 'Maharao of Kutch'. A private operator, Mr. Kabali, started air services between Mumbai-Jamnagar-Bhuj and Karachi with Dakota aircrafts. In 1947, the airfield was handed over by the Maharao to the Union of India. A civil terminal building came up in 1948 and civil flights continued operations with British Heron and Avro aircraft. The first IAF establishment came into being as 12 Care & Maintenance Units (C & MU) in 1968. 12 C & MU was converted to 6 FBSU on 07 Aug 72. On 26 Jan 79, the base was upgraded to a Wing and this marked the birth of 27 Wg, Air Force. One Sqn of MiG-21 Bis aircraft was also relocated from Pune to Bhuj, thus completing the process of making it a frontline fighter base.
Unit previously existed as 6 FBSU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
26 Jan 79 to 01 Mar 79Wing Commander Sharad Narayan Medhekar5062 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
01 Mar 79 to 01 Aug 80Group Captain Satish Chandra Jain5068 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
01 Aug 80 to 01 Mar 83Group Captain Trevor Joseph Fernandes5287 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
01 Apr 83 to 14 Oct 85Group Captain Bipinchandra Shantaram Raje5182 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
14 Oct 85 to 15 Mar 87Group Captain Suresh Kumar Sonpar6126 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
25 Mar 87 to 03 Jan 90Group Captain Chittatoor Doraiswami Chandrasekhar8426 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
04 Jan 90 to 08 Mar 93Group Captain Dileep Nilkanth Pandit8166 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
09 Mar 93 to 10 Aug 94Group Captain Satish Kumar Jain9716 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
11 Aug 94 to 19 Jan 97Group Captain Adhip Banerjee11592 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
20 Jan 97 to 24 Aug 97Group Captain Parvez Hamilton Khokhar11860 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
25 Aug 97 to 29 Dec 97Group Captain Mohinder Pal Singh Gill13604 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
30 Dec 97 to 04 Feb 01Group Captain Satvir Singh Dhanda13926 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
05 Feb 01 to 08 Dec 02Group Captain Mohit Kumar14674 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
09 Dec 02 to 04 Jul 04Group Captain Sanderraman Neelakantan15184 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
05 Jul 04 to 17 Jul 06Group Captain Navkaranjit Singh Dhillon16580 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
17 Jul 06 to 06 Jul 08Group Captain Surendra Kumar Ghotia16575 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
07 Jul 08 to 31 Mar 09Group Captain Rajiv Dayal Mathur16772 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
01 Apr 09 to 09 May 10Group Captain Nagesh Kapoor18557 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
10 May 10 to 21 May 12Group Captain Hardeep Bains19180 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
21 May 12 to 31 Mar 13Group Captain Dhananjai Vishnu Wani18568 F(P)Stn CdrBhuj
01 Apr 13 to 06 Apr 14Air Commodore Dhananjai Vishnu Wani18568 F(P)AOCBhuj
26 May 14 to 06 Jun 16Air Commodore Kanthalloor Saraswathy Kumar Suresh18822 F(P)AOCBhuj
06 Jun 16 to 24 Jun 18Air Commodore ----------------99999 AOCBhuj
25 Jun 18 to Air Commodore ----------------99999 AOCBhuj

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.