No.24 Squadron Hawks

Motto : Navijitya Nivartanam
Date Raised : 1962-02-16 Location : Bareilly
The Squadron was formed on 16 February 1962 at Air Force Station Chabua, in Assam. It was equipped with Vampire fighter bomber aircraft

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Jul 62 to 08 Mar 64Squadron Leader Man Mohan Singh4023 GD(P)CO
09 Mar 64 to 29 Aug 65Squadron Leader Hugh Lancelot Ford4579 GD(P)CO
30 Aug 65 to 02 Apr 66Squadron Leader Madhabendra Banerji4898 GD(P)COKalaikunda
16 May 66 to 15 Sep 67Wing Commander Man Mohan Singh4023 GD(P)CO
20 Oct 67 to 16 Oct 68Wing Commander Sunandan Roy4249 GD(P)CO
15 Nov 68 to 02 Jul 72Wing Commander Ravinder Lal Badhwar4341 GD(P)COTezpur
03 Jul 72 to 14 Jul 74Wing Commander Indru Gurmukhdas Shahani4791 GD(P)CO
15 Jul 74 to 05 Jun 77Wing Commander Bir Inder Singh5040 GD(P)CO
06 Jun 77 to 18 Nov 79Wing Commander Venkatram Iyer5661 GD(P)COHashimara/ Bareilly
19 Nov 79 to 27 Oct 80Wing Commander Satish Kumar Sareen5370 GD(P)COBareilly
05 Jan 81 to 01 May 83Wing Commander Chittatoor Doraiswami Chandrasekhar8426 GD(P)COBareilly/ Ambala
02 May 83 to 11 Dec 83Wing Commander Vishwabandhu Mehta9024 GD(P)COAmbala
12 Dec 83 to 08 Dec 85Wing Commander Manpreet Singh Brar8715 GD(P)CO
09 Dec 85 to 27 Sep 87Wing Commander Anant Vasant Awlegaonkar9737 GD(P)CO
28 Sep 87 to 10 Jun 89Wing Commander Arun Gurunandan Katre11852 GD(P)CO
19 Jun 89 to 30 Jun 91Wing Commander Sudhir Asthana12202 GD(P)CO
01 Jul 91 to 01 Aug 93Wing Commander Rajeev Eknath Ketkar13269 F(P)CO
02 Aug 93 to 23 Apr 95Wing Commander Bakshish Singh Khalsa13567 F(P)CO
24 Apr 95 to 11 May 97Wing Commander Ashok Balkrishna Rahane14096 F(P)CO
12 May 97 to 21 Sep 97Wing Commander Bhaskaran Nair Unnikrishnan15004 F(P)COPune
15 Oct 97 to 14 May 00Wing Commander Girish Saini15886 F(P)COPune
15 May 00 to 08 Sep 02Wing Commander Shreesh Mohan16966 F(P)COPune
09 Sep 02 to 04 Jul 04Wing Commander Umesh Rakhra18071 F(P)CO
05 Jul 04 to 02 Jul 06Wing Commander Kothapalli Venkata Rama Raju18573 F(P)CO
03 Jul 06 to 27 Jul 08Wing Commander Nirmalendu Nath Sinha20157 F(P)CO

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.