23 Wing

Date Raised : 1963-01-25 Location : Jammu
Jammu, the winter capital of the state of J & K ensconced between the gentle meanders of the river Tawi and picturesque backdrop of Trikuta hills found itself on the map of the Indian Air Force on 10 Mar 1948. The date was to epitomise birth of a rich operational history in years to come and marked the formation of No 1 Wing, Air Force under the command of legendary wg Cdr MM Engineer, MVC, DFC. The Wing operated from Srinagar in summer and Jammu in winter till end of 1950. There after, it maintained its detachment at Jammu under command of one Flt Lt and few officers. 23 Wg AF was formed here on 25 Jan 63 under the command of Wg Cdr J Andrews.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
25 Jan 63 to 14 Jan 64Wing Commander Jacob Andrews2378 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
15 Jan 64 to 29 Apr 66Wing Commander George Victor Francis2925 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
30 Jun 66 to 02 Feb 67Wing Commander Sudhindra Kumar Majumdar3484 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
10 Mar 67 to 12 Sep 69Wing Commander Manuel Keshrinath Gaikwad3882 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
19 Sep 69 to 22 Jun 71Wing Commander Angelo Reginald Lobo3957 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
26 Jul 71 to 20 Jan 74Wing Commander Bharati Kumar Chatterji4505 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
11 Feb 74 to 14 Sep 75Wing Commander Inder Dev Bhalla4571 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
15 Sep 75 to 14 Jun 77Wing Commander Shiv Prakash Sabharwal4413 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
28 Jun 77 to 11 Apr 79Wing Commander Subhash Madanmohan Hundiwala6351 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
12 Apr 79 to 26 Oct 80Wing Commander Prithipal Singh Bhachu5793 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
27 Oct 80 to 15 Jul 82Group Captain Jagjit Singh Sawhney4449 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
16 Jul 82 to 16 Aug 85Group Captain Om Prakash Devgon4726 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
22 Aug 85 to 30 Jun 88Air Commodore Rajendra Dev Pant4737 GD(P)AOCJammu
21 Oct 88 to 11 Nov 88Group Captain Subhash Madanmohan Hundiwala6351 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
11 Nov 88 to 03 Jan 91Air Commodore Subhash Madanmohan Hundiwala6351 GD(P)AOCJammu
26 Aug 91 to 13 Jun 94Group Captain Subhash Chandra Kharbanda10113 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
14 Jun 94 to 31 Jan 95Group Captain Pushpendra Singh Diwaniyan12379 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
01 Feb 95 to 12 Nov 96Group Captain Maheshwar Dutt11607 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
13 Nov 96 to 31 Jan 00Group Captain Surindra Kumar Sharma12023 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
01 Feb 00 to 03 Jan 02Group Captain Ashok Kumar Malhotra14112 F(P)Stn CdrJammu
04 Jan 02 to 01 Jun 03Group Captain Manmohan Bahadur14665 F(P)Stn CdrJammu
02 Jun 03 to 04 Jul 04Group Captain Sanjib Kumar Bhattacharya15702 F(P)Stn CdrJammu
05 Jul 04 to 16 Oct 05Group Captain Radhakrishnan Shankar17010 F(P)Stn CdrJammu
17 Oct 05 to 14 Oct 07Group Captain Jasjit Singh Kler16225 F(P)Stn CdrJammu
15 Oct 07 to 30 Apr 09Group Captain Vishwanath Prakash17149 F(P)Stn CdrJammu
13 Oct 10 to 30 Sep 12Air Commodore Nitin B Sathe17708 F(P)AOCJammu
01 Oct 12 to 21 Sep 14Air Commodore Prashant Eknath Patange17706 F(P)AOCJammu
25 Dec 16 to 19 Mar 19Air Commodore Shashi Kant Mishra19570 F(P)AOCJammu
20 Mar 19 to 31 Oct 21Air Commodore Ajay Singh Pathania18594 F(P)AOCJammu

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.