17 Wing

Date Raised : 1963-06-15 Location : Gorakhpur

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to Air Commodore Anurag Joshi18280 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
Unknown to Air Commodore Anil Golani16986 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
15 Jun 63 to 02 Jun 64Wing Commander Walter Vernon Alexander Lloyd2623 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
10 Aug 64 to 27 Feb 66Wing Commander Virendra Mohan Bhatnagar3067 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
28 Feb 66 to 01 Jan 67Group Captain Virendra Mohan Bhatnagar3067 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
02 Jan 67 to 15 Aug 69Group Captain Randhir Singh2135 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
16 Aug 69 to 25 Feb 72Group Captain Santosh Kumar Jain3575 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
26 Feb 72 to 25 Aug 74Group Captain Mandokollathur Gopalaswamy Ramachandra4033 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
26 Aug 74 to 14 Sep 75Group Captain Dalbir Yadav4241 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
15 Sep 75 to 04 Jul 76Group Captain Mohan Inder Singh4219 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
05 Sep 76 to 29 Jan 78Group Captain Man Mohan Bir Singh Talwar4573 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
30 Jan 78 to 11 May 80Group Captain Charanjit Singh4823 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
12 May 80 to 20 Oct 83Group Captain Venkatraman Shankar5197 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
21 Oct 83 to 27 Mar 85Air Commodore Sindhaghatta Subbaramu5371 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
28 Mar 85 to 21 Sep 86Air Commodore Janak Kapur5585 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
22 Sep 86 to 11 Aug 88Air Commodore Peter Eric Gaynor5110 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
12 Aug 88 to 09 Nov 88Group Captain Philip Rajkumar6748 F(P)Stn CdrGorakhpur
10 Nov 88 to 22 Dec 89Air Commodore Philip Rajkumar6748 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
04 Jan 90 to 07 Mar 92Air Commodore Jeffrey D'Souza7432 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
16 Mar 92 to 14 Mar 93Air Commodore Vinod Patney6125 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
30 Aug 93 to 20 Aug 95Air Commodore Sathvamangalam Duraiswami Gowrisankar7713 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
21 Aug 95 to 08 Feb 98Air Commodore Donovan Eric Jonas10131 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
09 Feb 98 to 30 Jul 00Air Commodore Bhushan Nilkanth Gokhale11630 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
31 Jul 00 to 10 Mar 02Air Commodore Vijay Shanker Kapani12766 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
11 Mar 02 to 22 Feb 04Air Commodore Dinesh Chandra Kumaria13366 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
23 Feb 04 to 30 Dec 04Air Commodore Ravindra Hemchandra Karve13369 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
31 Dec 04 to 03 Sep 06Air Commodore Karunakaran Gopa Kumar13391 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
04 Sep 06 to Air Commodore Prakul Kumar14093 F(P)AOCGorakhpur
03 Aug 15 to 25 Dec 17Air Commodore Arun Malik19532 F(P)AOCGorakhpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.