No.16 Squadron Black Cobras

Motto : Praharodata (Ready to Strike)
Location : Gorakhpur
16 Squadron was formed in 1950 at Pune with the Spitfire/ Tempest Aircraft as a light bomber squadron of the Western Air Command. The squadron was re-equipped in 1954 with liberator aircraft. In 1957, Canberra bomber aircraft joined the "COBRA" and the role was redefined as Bombing and interdiction. In 1962 the squadron moved to Kalaikunda where it took part in the 1965 war. After the war it moved to Gorakhpur where it was re-equipped with Jaguar aircraft.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
26 Apr 54 to 02 Apr 56Squadron Leader George Victor Francis2925 GD(P)COPune
07 Jan 57 to 01 Mar 57Squadron Leader Amit Singh Bakhshi3323 GD(P)COPune
01 Mar 57 to 04 Nov 57Wing Commander Phiroz Mehta1715 GD(P)COPune
08 Nov 57 to 31 Jan 61Wing Commander Jaspal Singh2451 GD(P)COPune
01 Feb 61 to 02 Jan 64Wing Commander Surinder Singh3009 GD(P)COPune/ Kalaikunda
10 Jan 64 to 16 Jul 66Wing Commander Peter Maynard Wilson3590 GD(P)COKalaikunda/ Gorakhpu
18 Jul 66 to 15 Aug 69Wing Commander Mandokollathur Gopalaswamy Ramachandra4033 GD(P)COGorakhpur
16 Aug 69 to 03 Mar 72Wing Commander Padmanabha Gautam4482 GD(P)COGorakhpur
03 Mar 72 to 29 Mar 72Wing Commander Purnchandra Madhavrao Takle4707 GD(P)COGorakhpur
01 May 72 to 28 Feb 74Wing Commander Jyoti Prosad Gupta4333 GD(P)COGorakhpur
06 Jan 75 to 08 Feb 76Wing Commander Kollagunta Sambamurthi Chandrasekar4962 GD(P)COGorakhpur
23 Feb 76 to 03 Dec 77Wing Commander Narendra Narayan Ubgade4878 GD(P)COGorakhpur
04 Dec 77 to 07 Apr 80Wing Commander Rabindar Nath Kharbanda5589 GD(P)COGorakhpur
08 Apr 80 to 28 Mar 82Wing Commander Chandrakant Nijanand Bal7401 GD(P)COGorakhpur
29 Mar 82 to 01 Jul 84Wing Commander Girish Chandra Mehra8664 GD(P)COGorakhpur
02 Jul 84 to 09 Nov 86Wing Commander Allandur Sulochanan Gurunathan10443 GD(P)COGorakhpur
10 Nov 86 to 09 Oct 88Wing Commander Gurnam Singh Choudhary11870 GD(P)COGorakhpur
10 Oct 88 to 24 Dec 90Wing Commander Ajit Keshav Agtey12188 GD(P)COGorakhpur
24 Dec 90 to 15 Jun 92Wing Commander Norman Anil Kumar Browne13129 F(P)COGorakhpur
15 Jun 92 to 04 Oct 93Wing Commander Shyamlal Ghosh13625 F(P)COGorakhpur
04 Oct 93 to 28 Dec 95Wing Commander Prakul Kumar14093 F(P)COGorakhpur
28 Dec 95 to 19 Jan 98Wing Commander Ramesh Rai14669 F(P)COGorakhpur
19 Jan 98 to 06 Mar 00Wing Commander Rakesh Anand15873 F(P)COGorakhpur
06 Mar 00 to 28 Apr 02Wing Commander Sandeep Puri16574 F(P)COGorakhpur
29 Apr 02 to 18 Oct 04Wing Commander Rajeev Hora17141 F(P)COGorakhpur
18 Oct 04 to 01 Oct 06Wing Commander Ashutosh Chandra Chopra18555 F(P)COGorakhpur
12 Oct 06 to 05 Oct 08Wing Commander C Subramaniam20122 F(P)COGorakhpur
06 Oct 08 to 08 Aug 10Wing Commander Sanjeev Sethi21221 F(P)COGorakhpur
29 Oct 18 to Group Captain S K SinghCOGorakhpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.