No.15 Squadron Flying Lances

Motto : Nihantavya Shatrava (Anhillate the Enemy)
Date Raised : 1951-08-20 Location : Sirsa
15 Squadron, Air Force was formed on 2 August 1951 at Ambala. The Squadron was equipped with Spitfire MK-XVIII. In 1953, the Squadron was number plated and all the Spit Fires were allotted to the newly formed Air Force Academy. The Squadron was re-formed at Ambala on 26 November 1964, equipped with Folland Gnat aircraft. In April 1969, the Units moved to Bagdogra. In 1975, the Lances, moved to Pune and converted onto the supersonic MiG-21 Bis aircraft. In the year 1981, the Squadron moved to Bhuj. In 1983, the "Flying Lances" were the first MiG-21 Bis squadron in the Air Force to be modified for the Matra Magic R55, air to air missiles. The squadron was again number plated in 2009 and re-raised in 2012 on the Su-30 at Sirsa AFS. become the first operational fighter squadron to be armed with indigenous Astra BVR air to air missiles.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
20 Aug 51 to 26 Jan 53Squadron Leader Edul Jahangir Dhatigara1899 GD(O)COHalwara
28 Nov 64 to 17 Dec 65Wing Commander Minoo Jehangir Dotiwalla3839 F(P)COAmbala
03 Jan 66 to 28 Apr 69Wing Commander Chandra Kant Viswanath Gole3652 F(P)COAmbala
26 Jun 69 to 15 Feb 72Wing Commander Man Mohan Singh4023 F(P)COBagdogra
03 Mar 72 to 21 Jan 74Wing Commander Parmarthi Raina4650 F(P)COBagdogra
01 Feb 74 to 31 Oct 76Wing Commander Manjunath Sadanand4994 F(P)COBagdogra/ Pune
01 Nov 76 to 09 Dec 79Wing Commander Om Prakash Mullick5377 F(P)COPune
10 Dec 79 to 16 Nov 81Wing Commander Adi Rustomji Ghandhi7722 F(P)COPune/ Bhuj
11 Jan 82 to 11 Oct 83Wing Commander Devinder Singh Sant8157 F(P)COBhuj
12 Oct 83 to 08 Jan 85Wing Commander Pradip Kantilal Gandhi8142 F(P)COBhuj
08 Jul 85 to 23 Jun 87Wing Commander Balakrishna Menon11307 F(P)COBhuj
24 Jun 87 to 15 May 89Wing Commander Yashwant Rao Rane12210 F(P)COBhuj
16 May 89 to 11 Feb 90Wing Commander Pushpendra Singh12512 F(P)COBhuj
12 Feb 90 to 10 Mar 92Wing Commander Rajinder Chandra Uppal12929 F(P)COBhuj
10 Mar 92 to 24 Apr 94Wing Commander Jasbir Singh Panesar13370 F(P)COBhuj
25 Apr 94 to 19 Nov 95Wing Commander Ramesh Malhotra13590 F(P)CO
20 Nov 95 to 19 Jan 98Wing Commander Prakash Babulal Patel14555 F(P)CO
20 Jan 98 to 18 Jun 00Wing Commander Shirish Baban Deo15681 F(P)CO
19 Jun 00 to 29 Sep 02Wing Commander Rajiv Dayal Mathur16772 F(P)CO
30 Sep 02 to 27 Jun 04Wing Commander Diptendu Choudhury17335 F(P)CO
28 Jun 04 to 11 Jun 06Wing Commander Rajiv Kumar Obheroi18784 F(P)CO
07 Apr 08 to 30 Jun 09Wing Commander Kolal Krishnamurthy Venugopal20459 F(P)CO

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.