14 Wing

Date Raised : 1962-02-21 Location : Chabua
The Chabua air base was used extensively by the Allies for the operations against the Japanese, and was abandoned after World War II. In 1962, in response to the Chinese invasion of Tibet and subsequent threat to the Northeast, the Wing 14 was formed at Jorhat and moved to Chabua. The first IAF aircraft to operate here were the Dakotas of the 49 Squadron and the Vampires of the 24 Squadron. During the Chinese aggression, air transport support for Lohit, Siang and Subansiri divisions was provided from Chabua. In 1965, it was used as the base for a squadron each of the Hunters, the Otters and Mi-4 helicopters. After the war, in 1974, the runway was renovated to enable high performance fighter operations and the 47 Squadron moved here with MiG-21 aircraft. Before its closure in 1992, there were no fighter squadrons here, but the station had two Mi-17 Unitss for air logistics operations in Arunachal Pradesh. In 1993, it was decided to expand Chabua to once again house fighters. The helicopters were relocated to neighbouring Mohanbari and Chabua remained without any flying squadrons till 1995. The 20 Squadron, the erstwhile Thunderbolts, equipped with MiG-21FL, started operations from mid-1995. They undertook the task of training newly commissioned officers of the fighter stream. In January 1998, it was replaced by Operational Conversion Unitss, relocated from Chabua to Kalaikunda towards the end of 2009. On December 1, 2010, the 102 Squadron was resurrected with the magnificent Sukhoi-30MKI and Chabua once again became the easternmost fighter base of the air force.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to Group Captain John Dunbar Aquino1777 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
01 Jan 64 to 01 Jan 67Group Captain Edul Jahangir Dhatigara1899 GD(O)Stn CdrChabua
Unknown to 01 Dec 67Group Captain Surjit Singh Jaspal1808 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
01 Mar 73 to Group Captain Sanat Kumar Mitra3870 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
01 Jan 75 to 31 Mar 78Group Captain Ashateeta Chakravarti3662 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
01 Apr 78 to 21 Aug 79Group Captain Annaswami Sridharan4761 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
22 Aug 79 to 04 Jul 82Group Captain Keith David Kingsley Lewis5109 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
05 Jul 82 to 27 Feb 85Group Captain Kodendera Cariappa Cariappa5376 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
28 Feb 85 to 18 Oct 85Group Captain Ashwini Kumar Bhide5674 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
19 Oct 85 to 16 Feb 86Group Captain Nagina Singh Matharhoo8180 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
17 Feb 86 to 31 Jan 88Air Commodore Surindar Kumar Bajaj4884 GD(P)AOCChabua
01 Feb 88 to 17 Jul 90Air Commodore Krishna Bihari Singh5865 GD(P)AOCChabua
18 Jul 90 to 17 May 92Air Commodore Praveen Badhwar7658 GD(P)AOCChabua
18 May 92 to 21 Feb 94Air Commodore Amariit Singh Sandhu7703 GD(P)AOCChabua
22 Feb 94 to 06 Mar 94Group Captain S K SharmaStn CdrChabua
07 Mar 94 to 02 Aug 95Group Captain Kuldeep Singh Sahota9848 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
02 Aug 95 to 02 Mar 97Group Captain Charanjit Singh Gill11645 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
03 Mar 97 to 31 Oct 97Group Captain Murali Sundaram12369 GD(P)Stn CdrChabua
01 Nov 97 to 31 Dec 98Air Commodore Murali Sundaram12369 GD(P)AOCChabua
01 Jan 99 to 20 Aug 01Air Commodore Sadhashivan Radhakrishnan12408 GD(P)AOCChabua
21 Aug 01 to 25 Dec 01Group Captain Anil Chopra13368 F(P)Stn CdrChabua
26 Dec 01 to 25 Jun 03Air Commodore Sudhir Asthana12202 GD(P)AOCChabua
26 Jun 03 to 01 Jan 06Group Captain Rakesh Saxena15190 F(P)Stn CdrChabua
02 Jan 06 to 11 Nov 07Air Commodore Nirbhay Kumar Jain13576 F(P)AOCChabua
12 Nov 07 to 30 Apr 09Air Commodore Sardar Harpal Singh16071 F(P)AOCChabua
01 May 09 to 19 Dec 10Air Commodore Amit Dev16972 F(P)AOCChabua
20 Dec 10 to 09 Jul 12Air Commodore Mrigendra Singh17324 F(P)AOCChabua
10 Jul 12 to 17 May 15Air Commodore Mohan Kumar Rao17343 F(P)AOCChabua
18 May 15 to 06 Aug 17Air Commodore Brij Mohan Tyagi18795 F(P)AOCChabua
07 Aug 17 to 16 Dec 18Air Commodore George Thomas20118 F(P)AOCChabua
17 Dec 18 to Air Commodore Vikas Sharma20757 F(P)AOCChabua
Unknown to 01 Nov 21Air Commodore Palaparthy Venkat Shivanand19901 F(P)AOCChabua
02 Nov 21 to Air Vice Marshal Palaparthy Venkat Shivanand19901 F(P)AOCChabua

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.