No.12 Squadron Yaks

Motto : Amit Vikram (Boundless Valour)
Date Raised : 1945-12-01 Location : Agra
12 Sqn was formed in 1945 on the spitfires but became the first Indian squadron to convert to Transports. It Moved to Agra in August 1947 and has operated Oxfords, Dakotas, packets and An-32 since 1984. The Ops role of the squadron is bombing

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Dec 45 to 05 Dec 46Squadron Leader Syed Naseem Haider2116 GD(P)COAgra
06 Dec 46 to 30 Apr 47Squadron Leader Shivdev Singh1595 GD(P)COAgra
01 May 47 to 14 Aug 47Wing Commander Shivdev Singh1595 GD(P)COAgra
15 Aug 47 to 21 May 48Wing Commander Karori Lal Bhatia1605 GD(P)COAgra
22 May 48 to 01 Dec 48Wing Commander John Dunbar Aquino1777 GD(P)COAgra
02 Dec 48 to 11 Apr 49Squadron Leader Himmat Singh Ravubha Gohel1705 GD(P)COAgra
12 Apr 49 to 26 May 50Wing Commander Murat Singh Aulakh1660 GD(O)COAgra
20 Jun 50 to 15 Aug 51Wing Commander Yeshwant Vinayak Malse1616 GD(P)COAgra
16 Aug 51 to 01 Jan 53Wing Commander Ghansham Singh Tahilramani1749 GD(P)COAgra
02 Jan 53 to 13 Aug 54Wing Commander Kasargod Sadanand Bhat1747 GD(P)COAgra
14 Aug 54 to 09 Oct 55Wing Commander Himmat Singh Ravubha Gohel1705 GD(P)COAgra
10 Oct 55 to 31 Jul 57Wing Commander Lal Singh Grewal2337 GD(P)COAgra
01 Aug 57 to 30 Jun 58Wing Commander Bal Bhagwan Marathe1915 GD(P)COAgra
01 Jul 58 to 15 Apr 60Wing Commander Gian Dev Sharma1742 GD(P)COAgra
16 Apr 60 to 01 Aug 60Wing Commander Krishan Lal Suri2907 GD(P)COAgra
02 Aug 60 to 27 May 62Wing Commander Lal Singh Grewal2337 GD(P)COAgra
28 May 62 to 30 Sep 64Wing Commander Parshotamlal Pandhi1997 GD(P)COAgra
01 Oct 64 to 25 Sep 67Wing Commander Naresh Kumar Midha3658 GD(P)COAgra
26 Sep 67 to 10 May 70Wing Commander Sardar Amanullah Khan4424 GD(P)COAgra
17 May 70 to 07 Dec 73Wing Commander Shiv Prakash Sabharwal4413 GD(P)COAgra
08 Dec 73 to 29 Jan 76Wing Commander Purushottam Laxmikant Purohit4581 GD(P)COAgra
09 Feb 76 to 01 Jul 79Wing Commander Harwant Bir Singh5065 GD(P)COAgra
02 Jul 79 to 21 Apr 80Wing Commander Satish Kapoor6774 GD(P)COAgra
22 Apr 80 to 26 Oct 80Wing Commander Harbinder Singh Sidhu7682 GD(P)COAgra
27 Oct 80 to 15 Dec 83Group Captain Sowarnjit Singh Dhillon5186 GD(P)COAgra
04 Nov 84 to 31 May 86Group Captain Diba Kar Ghose4797 GD(P)COAgra
08 Sep 86 to 03 Jul 88Group Captain Bijoy Krishna Pandey8990 GD(P)COAgra
29 Aug 88 to 30 Jun 91Group Captain Shashi Mohan Puri10483 GD(P)COAgra
01 Jul 91 to 22 Aug 93Group Captain Kishori Prasad Kar9411 GD(P)COAgra
23 Aug 93 to 18 Aug 96Group Captain Sudhir Mohan Sethi9479 GD(P)COAgra
03 Oct 96 to 02 Jul 00Group Captain Sanjay Sharad Kumar Tilloo13919 F(P)COAgra
03 Jul 00 to 06 Jan 03Group Captain Shamsher Jang Bahadur14570 F(P)COAgra
13 Jan 03 to 19 Jul 04Group Captain Gurinder Pal Singh15417 F(P)COAgra
19 Jul 04 to Group Captain Kothandaram Krishna Reddy16623 F(P)COAgra
06 Jul 09 to Group Captain Surendra Kumar Indoria18296 F(P)COAgra

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.