No.112 Helicopter Unit Thoroughbreds

Motto : Apatsu Mitram (A friend in time of need)
Date Raised : 1963-08-01 Location : Yelahanka
112 Helicopter Units, popularly known as ‘THOROUGHBREDS’, was raised in Jorhat on 01 Aug 63. It was then equipped with Bell 47G helicopters. The Units moved to Bagdogra in Nov 66 and operated from there till Jul 82 where it operated Chetak hepters. The Units was relocated in Air Force Station, Yelahanka, in Aug 82 and re-equipped with MI-8 helicopters.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Aug 63 to 19 Jul 65Squadron Leader Arnold Sochindranath Williams3950 GD(P)COJorhat
20 Jul 65 to 01 Sep 68Squadron Leader Rajendra Dev Pant4737 GD(P)COJorhat/ Bagdogra
02 Sep 68 to 25 Jun 72Squadron Leader Naresh Kumar5057 GD(P)COBagdogra
02 Jun 72 to 20 Jan 74Squadron Leader Chandra Mohan Singla6893 GD(P)COBagdogra
21 Jan 74 to 24 Mar 76Squadron Leader Sivaramakrishnan Kalyanaraman7704 GD(P)COBagdogra
25 Mar 76 to 08 Feb 79Squadron Leader Ravindra Nath Kapoor8200 GD(P)COBagdogra
09 Feb 79 to 27 Apr 79Squadron Leader Narender Paul Narang9728 GD(P)COBagdogra
28 Apr 79 to 20 Aug 81Wing Commander Anand Narain Mehtani5804 GD(P)COBagdogra
21 Aug 81 to 30 Sep 82Wing Commander Baljit Singh Chhoker7018 GD(P)COBagdogra/ Yelahanka
01 Oct 82 to 20 Jan 85Wing Commander Dilsher Singh Gill9126 GD(P)COYelahanka
21 Jan 85 to 08 Feb 87Wing Commander Tejinder Pal Singh Chatwal11290 GD(P)COYelahanka
09 Feb 87 to 18 Jun 89Wing Commander Surindra Kumar Sharma12023 GD(P)COYelahanka
19 Jun 89 to 30 Jun 91Wing Commander Shashi Kaunta Datta12028 GD(P)COYelahanka
01 Jul 91 to 28 Aug 93Group Captain Mirza Murtuza Ali11340 GD(P)COYelahanka
24 Aug 93 to 02 Jul 95Group Captain Bijender Singh Siwach12413 GD(P)COYelahanka
03 Jul 95 to 27 Jul 97Wing Commander Pobbarira Belliappa Devayya15560 F(P)COYelahanka
28 Jul 97 to 20 Jun 99Wing Commander Ramaswamy Raju Srinivasan16234 F(P)COYelahanka
21 Jun 99 to 24 Jan 01Wing Commander Rahul Anand Maslekar16785 F(P)COYelahanka
25 Jan 01 to 17 Aug 03Wing Commander Nukala Narendar Reddy17455 F(P)COYelahanka
18 Aug 03 to 15 May 05Wing Commander Prashant Mukund Vithalkar17855 F(P)COYelahanka
15 May 05 to 29 Oct 06Wing Commander Suresh Nair19209 F(P)COYelahanka
04 Dec 06 to 23 Mar 09Wing Commander Puneet Kumar18796 F(P)COYelahanka

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.