Awardee List for the MC HQ Flt

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty) : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty)
Wg Cdr Mathews Mammen 16618 F(P)Unit : MC HQ Flt  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 04
Details :

Group Captain Mathews Mammen (16618) Flying (Pilot) was commissioned in the Flying Branch of the IAF on 11 Dec 1981. He is a highly qualified and experienced pilot with over 7000 h of accident free flying to his credit. He is qualified in many operational and instructional roles with the highest Tpt Cat/R 'A' MG. He is a Qualified Flying Instructor/Examiner and is also a graduate of Defence Services Staff College (DSSC). He has been the Commanding Officer of Headquarter Maintenance Command Communication Flight wef 26 Mar 2001.

As the Commanding Officer Gp Capt Mammen has made excellent use of his knowledge and experience in meeting the task allotted to the unit. He has been able to mould and optimally utilise the potential among young pilots and navigators by inspiring them through personal example. He has achieved the synergy between operations and maintenance for safe and efficient utilisation of available aircraft. The unit achieved a very high state of categorisation, high serviceability and flew a total of 2289 h of accident and incident free flying during his tenure.

Gp Capt Mammen displayed exceptional professional ability and mental capacity to deal with the emergency and avert escalation of the emergency into a technical malfunction or material failure of an aircraft which occurred soon after take off with the AOCin-C, Maintenance Command, IAF on board. He thus set a good example of discipline in air and on ground to ensure safe conduct of flying operations without diluting operational efficiency.

Gp Capt Mammen has also made sustained efforts towards overall betterment of the unit. With his zeal, foresight, innovative organisational ability and sustained hard work, he has brought about marked improvement in the work ethos and working environment, which has contributed positively towards achieving the assigned tasks. During the recently concluded Mini Commanders Conference, his unit was awarded the 'Best Unit Support-Function for overall excellence' by AOC-in-C, MC, IAF.

For his exceptional devotion to duty, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Group Captain Mathews Mammen.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 24th April 2004 - No.32-Pres/2004 dated 26th January 2004 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.