Awardee List for the AFH Jorhat

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vishist Seva Medal : 1 |
Vishist Seva Medal
Sqn Ldr Bhuban Mohan Gogoi 7454 MEDUnit : AFH Jorhat  Award Date 22 Jun 72 Announced 22 Jun 72
Details :

Squadron Leader Bhuban Mohan Gogoi (7454) was commissioned in the Medical Branch of the Indian Air Force in May, 1968. At the outbreak of Indo-Pak hostilities in December, 1971, he served with an Air Force Hospital in the Eastern Sector.

Being the only anesthetist in the hospital, he assisted the Surgeon in three operations theaters simultaneously during the Indo-Pak operations. As battle casualties started coming in, he was busy in the operation theater for long periods. In one instance when 41 casualties were operated he worked for 48 hours at a stretch. On another occasion when 22 casualties were operated, he was busy in the operation theater for 35 hours without a break.

Throughout, Squadron Leader Bhuban Mohan Gogoi set an example with his organizing ability, high professional skill and steadfast devotion to duty with complete disregard to personal comfort in the finest traditions of the Indian Air Force. For his distinguished service, he is awarded the Vishisht Seva Medal.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 22 Jun 1972 Number:85 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.