Vayu Sena Medal Awardee List for the 32 Wing

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal
Gp Capt Sudhir Asthana 12202 F(P)Unit : 32 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 95
Details :

Group Captain Sudhir Asthana was commissioned as a fighter pilot in the Indian Air Force. He is a qualified flying instructor with an A-2 Category and was deputed to Govt. of Iraq in 1980 for instructional duties. He is a fighter combat leader of repute and has commanded a MiG-21 Squadron. He is a graduate of Defence Services Staff College and has done a successful tenure in Directorate of Personnel (Officers) at Air HQ. Gp Capt Asthana has to his credit over 3200 hours of accident free flying.Gp Capt Sudhir Asthana took over as Chief Operation Officer of a major flying Wing in January 1993. The Wing has six flying units - all equipped with different types of aircraft and two Missile squadrons, each of them also with different equipment. Coordinating their activities, monitoring their training and planning and executing their integrated flying training is an enormous task. Inspite of limited resources, he ensured near perfect environment for flying which was conducive to good operational training. This was amply proven when Directorate of Air Staff Inspection inspected the Station where the standard of preparedness of Base Air Defence and Air Traffic Control were assessed as Above Average.

The base which is co-located with Command Headquarters has a large number of dignitaries and teams visiting the Station. Flying displays have to be organised at a very short notice involving participation of large number of aircraft of different types, missiles and radar units which require minute and fool proof co-ordination. He planned and coordinated these displays in such a fashion that highlighted the professional standard of IAF. His contribution in the field of flight safety have also been significant and has resulted in major reduction in number of accidents and incidents at the Station.

For exceptional devotion to duty, the President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Gp Capt Sudhir Asthana.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 11th March 1995 - No.99-Pres/94 dated 26th January 1995 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.