Vayu Sena Medal Awardee List for the 3 Wing

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal : 2 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)
WO Jagannath Banerjee 300067 ORUnit : 3 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 64
Details :

Warrant Officer Jagannath Banerjee [Signaller (Air)] has been operating in NEFA, NHTA and Jammu and Kashmir areas for a long period. During the Chinese invasion of Ladakh, he worked fourteen hours a day, including six to eight hours of flying. He undertook several missions to forward landing grounds under enemy attack. In complete disregard of his personal safety, he always volunteered for hazardous missions and set a fine example to his colleagues and was source of inspiration ot them. Throughout, Warrant Officer Jagannath Banerjee displayed courage and devotion to duty.

Reference: Gazette of India 1st February 1964 - No.20 - Pres/64 dated 26th January 1964. 

Vayu Sena Medal
Gp Capt Saroj Jena 3157 GD(P)Unit : 3 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 69
Details :

Group Captain Saroj Jena commanded the I.A.F. Canberra Detachment in the Congo during April-October 1962. His Squadron rendered valuable service. He himself flew 10 sorties on reconnaissance missions. During the period December 1962 to May 1965, he commanded another Squadron. Under his able guidance the Squadron fulfilled all the tasks allotted to it creditably. Group Captain Jena took over Command of Air Force Station Palam, in January 1967 and was responsible for organising the fly-past during Republic Day 1967 and 1968. He was also responsible for the intricate flight planning, safety of aircraft and correct timings of the aircraft participating in the Air Power Demonstration held at Tilpat on 31st March 1968.

Throughout, Group Captain Saroj Jena displayed courage, leadership and devotion to duty in the best traditions of the Indian Air Force.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 12th April 1969 : No.18 - Pres/69 dated 26th January 1969 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.